PicBarn
Back to blog

Product photos for Amazon vs Shopify vs TikTok Shop: the three galleries compared

What each platform actually requires for product images, from its own help pages: Amazon’s white main image and 85% rule, Shopify’s theme-driven limits, TikTok Shop’s square 600 px minimum and no-rendering main image. Who reviews images, what each gallery expects, and how one shoot feeds all three.

Nov 3, 2026PicBarn
Product photos for Amazon vs Shopify vs TikTok Shop: the three galleries compared

Amazon, Shopify and TikTok Shop each set their own rules for product photos, and the rules are not interchangeable. Amazon reviews the main image against a strict spec; TikTok Shop scores the whole listing and bans renderings on the cover; Shopify publishes limits but has no image review step. This page puts the three side by side from each platform's own help pages, then shows how to get all three galleries from one shoot.

Key takeaways

  • Amazon: main image on pure white (RGB 255), product 85% of frame, no text or badges; JPEG recommended, 500–10,000 px, 1,000 px+ for zoom; six or more images plus a video recommended. Non-compliant main images can suppress a listing.
  • Shopify: up to 5,000 × 5,000 px (25 MP) and 20 MB; 2,048 × 2,048 displays best; PNG then JPEG; the theme decides the layout and crops. No platform approval queue is described in Shopify's documentation.
  • TikTok Shop: up to nine square images, at least 600 × 600 px; main image is the front view on pure white with no text, logos or borders; no placeholders or digital renderings; five or more images reach the "Good" tier.
  • AI images: Amazon requires an XMP tag on photorealistic synthetic people; TikTok allows AI images only when they match the real product and wants disclosure; Shopify's documentation sets no rule.
  • One shoot, three galleries: a real photo on white is the master; the lifestyle, on-model and infographic images are generated or shot from it and exported at each platform's size.

The specs side by side

AmazonShopifyTikTok Shop
Main image backgroundPure white, RGB 255, 255, 255Not specifiedPure white
Frame fillProduct 85% of the imageNot specifiedFront physical view, whole product
Text, logos, badgesNone on main image; no Amazon badges anywhereNot specifiedNone on any product image
Minimum sizeLongest side ≥ 500 px; ≥ 1,000 px for zoomNone stated≥ 600 × 600 px
Maximum size10,000 px longest side5,000 × 5,000 px / 25 MP, 20 MB10 MB (integration docs)
Recommended size1,000 px+ (2,000 square in practice)2,048 × 2,048 for squareLarger than 600, square
RatioAny; square in practiceOne ratio per collection1:1 (bulk tool tolerates 3:4–4:3, pads to square)
FormatsJPEG (recommended), TIFF, PNG, non-animated GIF; RGBPNG (best), JPEG, TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WebPJPG, JPEG, PNG
Images per product1 main + variants; ≥ 6 images and 1 video recommendedNo limit statedUp to 9, ≥ 5 for the Good tier
Mannequins / modelsNo mannequins of any kind; adult apparel on a standing modelNot specifiedChild models or mannequins allowed except swimwear/underwear
RenderingsMust accurately represent the productNot specifiedPlaceholders and digital renderings not allowed

Who reviews images, and what happens when they fail

Amazon states the consequences plainly: images that fail the technical spec cannot be uploaded; images that violate the content rules can be removed; a listing without a compliant main image can be suppressed from search until it has one. Amazon also says it selects and orders images across sellers and may modify submitted images.

TikTok Shop scores each listing into Poor, Fair or Good, and the tier affects distribution in search and recommendations. Poor listings have low-resolution images, clickbait or promotional content; Good listings have high-resolution images and five or more of the main product. Policy violations (text on images, renderings, misleading AI images) are handled under the Product Listing Policy.

Shopify documents limits (size, pixels, formats) and the admin rejects files over them, but its help pages describe no approval queue or content review for product images. Compliance there is with your theme and your own standards, which is freedom and also the reason inconsistent Shopify galleries are common.

What each gallery expects

Amazon: the main image is a plain product shot; images two to six are where lifestyle context, scale, details and infographics go (variant codes PT01–PT99), and A+ Content below the fold takes modules at 970 × 300 (Basic) or 1,464 × 600 (Premium). Reviews, badges and "free shipping" text are banned on every image.

Shopify: the product page can lead with a lifestyle hero; collection grids want one consistent ratio; the theme crops to its slots, so an image that looks wrong usually needs a different crop setting, not a re-upload.

TikTok Shop: the cover is the plain front view on white; the next four or more images carry angles, details and in-use context; square only; no duplicate angles.

AI-generated images on each platform

Amazon requires any image or video containing a photorealistic AI-generated person to carry the keyword contains-synthetic-performer in the file's XMP dc:subject metadata before upload. TikTok Shop allows AI-generated listing images when they accurately represent the real product (no change to size, colour, shape, features; no false scale; no replacing the product with a person or animal as the main subject) and expects significant AI use to be disclosed; renderings are not allowed as the main image. Shopify's help pages set no rule for AI images. Across all three the safe pattern is the same: the main image is a real photo; generated images keep the product's own pixels and go in the additional slots.

One shoot, three galleries

  1. Shoot the master: the product on a plain background, sharp, 2,000 px or larger, with any printed text legible.
  2. Produce the pure-white main image from it (levels, cut-out, or an automatic pure-white export).
  3. Generate the context images from the same file: a lifestyle scene, a second angle or detail, for apparel an on-model image, for Amazon an infographic with the top three callouts. PicBarn's AI product photography, virtual try-on and Amazon infographic images tools keep the product pixels and change only the surroundings (the infographic draws the product from a description, so keep it out of the main slot).
  4. Export per platform: Amazon 2,000 × 2,000 main and gallery; Shopify 2,048 × 2,048; TikTok Shop 1:1 from 1,200 px; add the Amazon XMP tag on any image with a synthetic model.
  5. Reorder per platform: plain shot first everywhere; lifestyle second on Shopify, third or later on Amazon, after the angle shots on TikTok Shop.

FAQ

Can I use the same images on all three? The master photo and the generated images, yes; the order, the crop and the main-image treatment differ. Amazon and TikTok Shop both want a plain white main image; Shopify does not care.

Which platform is strictest? Amazon on the main image (measured white, 85%, no text); TikTok Shop on the whole listing (quality tier, no renderings, square only); Shopify has limits but no review.

Do I need a model for apparel? On Amazon, yes: adult apparel's main image must be on a standing model, and mannequins of any kind are banned. TikTok Shop and Shopify do not require it.

Where do infographics go? Amazon gallery slots two onward and A+ modules; TikTok Shop additional images; Shopify wherever the theme shows them. Never the main image on Amazon or TikTok Shop.

Sources